Eponymous Lectures

McGibbon Lecture

An annual lecture in memory of Dr John McGibbon, a greatly admired Edinburgh radiologist and a pioneer of cardiac radiology, was endowed in the early 1960s. A grant from the European Association of Radiology following a successful meeting in Edinburgh in 1974 made it possible to re-endow the lecture in 1974 as a continuing academic memorial. Read more about his life here.

  • 2023: ‘Bladder Cancer Imaging’. Douglas Pendse Divisional Director, Uroradiologist, UCLH.
  • 2022: ‘Cardiac imaging – evidence, guidelines, and what it means for radiology departments’. Dr James Shambrook – Cardiothoracic Radiologist, University of Southampton.
  • 2021: ‘History and current status of cardiovascular imaging. Prof. Giles Roditi – NHS Greater Glasgow & Clyde.
  • 2020: ‘MRI: past, present and future’. Prof Fiona Gilbert – University of Cambridge.
  • 2019: ‘Personalising Realistic Medicine’. Dr Helen Mackie – National Clinical Advisor, Chief Medical Office Directorate, Scottish Government.
  • 2018: ‘Diffuse interstitial lung diseases – conundrums for the radiologist’. Prof Sujal Desai – Professor of Practice in Thoracic Imaging, Royal Brompton Hospital.
  • 2017: ‘Retroperitoneal tumours including sarcoma’. Prof Patrick O’Dwyer – Professor of Gastrointestinal Surgery, University of Glasgow.

Allan Reid Travelling Lecture

The SRS launched a new eponymous lecture in 2017, after the late Dr Allan Reid, consultant radiologist at Glasgow Royal Infirmary. He was a long-serving auditor for the society’s financial records and a loyal supporter of the Society. His love of travelling was renowned.

The inaugural lecture was delivered by Dr David Breen, Consultant Radiologist and Honorary Senior Lecturer in Radiology from the University Hospital of Southampton, at the SRS Spring meeting 2017 held in Stirling.

Previous lectures include:

  • 2023: No Allan Reid Lecture.
  • 2022: ‘Prostate Artery Embolisation for BPH: an insight’. Dr Ram Kasthuri, Consultant Interventional Radiologist, Glasgow.
  • 2021: ‘Stroke and Thrombectomy Service Development and Delivery’. Dr Paul Burns – Consultant Interventional Neuroradiologist, Belfast.
  • 2020: (Spring meeting not held due to COVID).
  • 2019: ‘Interventional Radiology – Alive or Dead?’. Prof Graeme Houston – Chair Clinical Imaging and Intervention, Director Clinical Imaging Research Facility, University of Dundee.
  • 2018: ‘Thrombectomy in Stroke’. Dr Norman McConachie – Consultant Interventional Neuroradiologist, Nottingham University Hospitals NHS Trust.
  • 2017: ‘Interventional Oncology: Unrealised Potential’. Dr David Breen – Abdominal and Interventional Radiologist, University of Southampton.

Anne Hollman Medal

The Anne Hollman Medal is awarded annually for the best trainee research presentation, delivered at each Autumn meeting. Further information is available on this page.

Copland Trainer of the Year Award

A new award for the 2020 meeting, supported by the family of Dr Bill Copland, a radiologist who trained in Aberdeen and worked in Edinburgh, and former SRS president from 1985-86. This annual award will be nominated by trainees in the regional centre hosting the Autumn meeting and presented at these meetings.